Leadership Awards Co-Chairs and Host Committee

2018 Co-Chairs

Effie Dennison joined Texas Capital Bank in 2015 as Director of Community Development. In this role, Dennison manages fulfillment of the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) and leads the bank’s Social Responsibility program. Dennison also serves as President of Texas Capital Community Development Corporation (TCCDC), a wholly-owned subsidiary of the bank. Prior to joining Texas Capital Bank, Mrs. Dennison worked as Senior Vice President with Wells Fargo Bank and Director of Fannie Mae Business Center.Dennison serves on the KERA Public Broadcast Board, the Oak Cliff Chamber Board, and Genesis Women’s Shelter Faith Community Coalition Board.

She was recently appointed to the City of Dallas Housing Finance Corporation Board. Dennison is an active member of The Links Incorporated Dallas Chapter, an international nonprofit organization for influential women making a difference in their communities and the world.  Dennison is the recipient of the Dallas Women’s Foundation 2010 Maura Award “Women Helping Women”; the 2009 Profiles in Leadership Award - Women’s Symposium at Southern Methodist University; Outstanding Leadership in Business Award - National Black MBA’s Houston Chapter and Influential Women Award - Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority.  

Jan Sharry is a Partner at Haynes and Boone, LLP. She has been recognized by Chambers USA, Chambers & Partners, 2008-2017, asa leading corporate securities and mergers and acquisitions lawyer. Over the course of herdistinguished career, Jan has served as a trusted advisor to numerous corporations (public and privately held) and private equity firms navigating complex multi-national transactionsand capital raises. For more than 35 years, her straightforward, common sense approachto difficult negotiations and legal issues has provided executives and their boards withcreative and workable solutions aimed at achieving timely, cost-effective results.

Jan’s legal talents are bolstered by her impressive resume of experience across a widearray of industries including experience in the energy, aviation, healthcare and food industries. Jan’s experience includes work on many transactions having a value in excess of $1.0 billion and others which involve crisis situations or “bet the company” type issues. Not surprisingly, Jan is well-known by many in the C-suite and on the Boards of some of the country’s most successful businesses. Jan’s experience with the issues faced by these businesses has made Jan a sought after author and speaker on issues such as crisis management, negotiating tactics, achieving win-win situations, women in the boardroom, and issues relating to fiduciary duties and securities compliance. Jan is also a frequent contributor to the Huffington Post on leadership issues.

Outside of Haynes and Boone, LLP, Jan is an active member of the Executive Women’s Roundtable (having served as their chair for a number of years) and serves on the Steering Committee of the Women of Tocqueville for the United Way and the Executive Leadership Team for the Go Red for Women Luncheon. Jan also currently serves on the Board of Directors of Dallas Women’s Foundation, is the Chair of the Dallas chapter of the International Women’s Forum, and serves on the Board of Trustees at Knox College.

Host Committee

Colleen Affeldt
Bonner Allen
Kim J. Askew
Ellenore Baker
Laura C. Baldwin
Erin Botsford
Cheryl Brown
Shonn Brown
Shelia Chhutani, M.D.
Anne Crews
Cheyenne Currall
Sharon Giddings Davis, Ph.D.
Julie Spicer England
Marta O. Engram
Janiece Evans-Page
Cristi Fletcher, DDS
Valerie Freeman
Michelle Frymire
Hilda C. Galvan
Donna J. German
Beverly Goulet
Gail Griswold
Vana Hammond
Hattie Hill
Marissa E. Horne
Lyria Frank Howland
Tracey Huntley
Brenda L. Jackson
Monica Johnson
Mattye Gouldsby Jones
Margaret H. Jordan
Louise Kee
Melody Lenox
Jill B. Louis
Ann E. Margolin

Laura Maxwell
Gail McDonald
Wendy Messmann
Maribess Lehmann Miller
Retta A. Miller
Neena Newberry
Carol A. Nichols
Laura Nieto
Diane S. Paddison
Carrie Freeman Parsons
Holly Reed
Virginia Rose-Harris
Lisa Ross
Shanon Schwimmer, M.D.
Cindy Scott
Zeenat Sidi
Sarah W. Soong
Thear Suzuki
Madeline Thomas, M.D.
Michelle R. Thomas
Ellen Torbert
Janelle Walker
Annette J. Watkins
Barbara Lord Watkins
Linda Wilkins
Cheryl Mayo Williams
Monica Williams, Ph.D.
Shawna D. Wilson
Linda Wimberly
Pamela Zeigler-Petty


 Stay connected

Stay Connected! Sign up for our emails


or text DWF to 51555